Lewandowski wins Fifa Best Award 2021 for the second time in a row
Please enter more than 2 characters!
Lewandowski Wins FIFA Best Award 2021 For The Second Time In A Row

Lewandowski Wins FIFA Best Award 2021 For The Second Time In A Row

18/01/2022; 4:36 PM Steven D. Thompson By : Steven D. Thompson

Away from the latest transfer news, Betpack recaps one of the biggest awards in global football. Lewandowski had a phenomenal season where he beat Gerd Muller’s record for most goals in a Bundesliga season.

After the farcical ceremony called the Ballon d’Or, many have extolled the organisers of the FIFA Best Awards 2021. The Ballon d’Or award was heavily criticised for its outcome as many believe that the winner of the men’s award Lionel Messi, was less than deserving of it.

Accusations of bias trailed the awards that many believe should have seen Robert Lewandowski as the winner.

Despite the cries against the Ballon d’Or, Lionel Messi was among the final three of the FIFA Best Award with Mohamed Salah and Lewandowski.

Lewandowski beats Messi to be named best in the world

To many, it was justice served, and FIFA have scored a few points in the credibility debate, while the Ballon d’Or has dropped several notches in the ranking.

On Monday evening, Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah finished behind Lewandowski at the FIFA Best Awards. The Bayern star, who finished as runners-up to Lionel Messi at the 2021 Ballon d’Or awards, was named the Best FIFA Men’s Player for the second year in a row.

For critics of the Ballon d’Or where Lionel Messi beat Lewandowski to the award, it was refreshing to see that FIFA chose to go with football rather than commerce. Lewandowski enjoyed a fantastic season. The Poland and Bayern Munich striker made a successful defence of his title. Lewandowski had a record goal-scoring season in the Bundesliga.

Lewandowski was at his imperial best after enjoying a fantastic season where he put Gerd Muller’s 49-year-old Bundesliga goals record to the dust. He set a new record with 41 goals from 29 league games last season. The Polish striker has also scored 23 goals this season from 19 appearances.

An honour well deserved

While the organisers of the Ballon d’Or overlooked the record-breaking season that Lewandowski had in favour of Lionel Messi, FIFA have recognised the monumental achievements that set aside a 49-year-old record.

Speaking at the awards, Lewandowski said he was honoured to win the trophy again. He expressed his pride in the achievement, saying the award belongs to his teammates and coaches. He also paid tribute to Gerd Muller, who passed away in August, aged 75.

According to Lewandowski, he never dreamed of breaking the record. Lewandowski said he would have said it was impossible to break the record. He thanked the late Muller and set his sights on breaking the new record.

Other awards were the Best Fifa Women’s Player won by Alexia Putellas. She also won the Ballon d’Or last month.

Edouard Mendy of Chelsea and Senegal, who was overlooked at the Ballon d’Or, claimed the goalkeeper of the year award. It came after his contribution to Chelsea’s Champions League triumph in his first year at the club. He beat Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG) and Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich) to the award.

Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes claimed the prize for the men’s and women’s coach of the year, respectively. The Puskas Award for the goal of the year went to Erik Lamela for his rabona goal against Arsenal in the Premier League. Cristiano Ronaldo received a special prize for becoming the top goalscorer in men’s internationals.

Related News

Our odds and reviews have been featured in:
Sigma Logo Business.com Logo ESPN Logo Bloomberg Logo The Wall Street Journal Logo
100% up to $100
Welcome Bonus
Play Now